Top 5 moments in IPL 2020

Spread the love

The IPL 2020 had seen a lot of firsts . It was the first time that the event was held from September to November and the full tournament was played in UAE . Also the first time the event was held behind closed doors with no crowd allowed due to covid pandemic.

The last years event had some great matches . We pick here the best 5 moments of IPL 2020

Double super over : The match between Mumbai Indians & KingsXI Punjab was one of the best in IPL history. After both teams scored 176 in 20 overs , the first super over over was played which was tied with both teams scoring 5 runs as both Bumrah and Shami bowled brilliantly with Shami defending 5 run score. Thus the 2nd superover had to be played and this time Kings XI reached the target of 12 against Boult to win in sensational finish. Surely the IPL match for the ages .

Tewatia hijacks match: Rahul Tewatia smashed five sixes off pacer Sheldon Cottrell as his innings of 31-ball 53 runs set up a record-breaking win for Rajasthan Royals against Kings XI Punjab. Tewatia had scored just 23 runs in 17 balls, but then he started the fireworks and helped RR chase down the IPL record-total of 224.

Dhoni addresses IPL retirement : CSK had a poor IPL 2020 and could not make the playoffs . Before the start of CSK’s final game of the tournament against Punjab Kings. Commentator Danny Morrison asked if this would be the final time Dhoni would be seen in IPL cricket. To this, Dhoni replied: “Definitely not!”. It was an epic moment.

De Villiers bonanza vs Rajasthan Royals: AB de Villiers’ innings for RCB against Rajasthan Royals was a treat for the fans. De Villiers stepped out to bat when RCB needed 76 runs to win in 6.5 overs, and speedster Jofra Archer had two overs left. Mr. 360 degree wreaked havoc as he smashed 55 runs in 22 balls to help Bangalore chase down the total of 178 with two balls to spare. RCB won the contest by 7 wickets.

Mumbai Indians win record extending 5th title : The final was not nail biter as the one in 2019 but Mumbai finally won it convincingly beating Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets but not before Delhi tried to make a comeback after Rohit Sharma (68) got out in a chase of 157 . Delhi managed to get few wickets but Ishan Kishan (33*) stood firm and win the match with 8 balls to spare and Mumbai won their 5th title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *