The top five fastest centuries in IPL history .

Spread the love

With IPL closing in let us go down the memory lane and revive the top 5 fastest centuries in the 12 year old competition.  As expected we came accross some of the most familiar  names in the list . Surprisingly none of the century knocks in the past 3 IPLs could emulate the top 5 fastest centuries of which the top 4 were scored between the period 2008- 2013  that is , within first 5 IPLs .

Below is the list :

5th    Jointly  AB de Villiers and David Warner  43 balls 

AB de Villiers and David Warner have jointly  hit the 5th fastest century in the IPL . Both the batters hit their century in just 43 balls.  AB de Villiers hit his fastest century off 43 balls during IPL 2016 while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Gujarat Lions. The match was played at Bangalore  . The 360 degrees phenomenon  , de Villiers scored 129 runs in the match with 12 sixes and 10 boundaries with a mixture of orthodox and unorthodox shots that confounded the opposition bowlers as RCB won.

David Warner emulated AB de Villiers next year  and  hit his fastest  century off 43 balls in IPL 2017. Warner was playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad against opposition Kolkata Knight Riders at  Hyderabad. After reaching his century,  Warner went on to score 126 runs in the match as KKR were crushed . It was indeed a brutal innings from the southpaw with crashing drives and cuts .

4th    Adam Gilchrist- 42 balls

Adam Gilchrist appeared in the Indian in the earliest IPLs after having retired from international cricket in 2007 but he amazingly  still holds the record of hitting the 4th fastest century in IPL. In 2008 edition , Gilchrist hit a century off just 42 deliveries while playing for Deccan Chargers against Mumbai Indians. The match was played at DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. The former Australia wicket-keeper Gilchrist scored 109 runs in the match after hitting 10 sixes and 9 boundaries. It was an innings studded with dazzling cover drives , square cuts and  lethal pull shots and fine usage of feet against spin as Deccan Charges beat the Mumbai Indians .  In 2009 Gilchrist captained Deccan Chargers to an IPL title .

3rd  David Miller- 38 balls

David Miller played a spectacular knock of 101 runs in IPL 2013, which is the 3rd fastest century ever hit in the Indian Premier League. The South African cricketer David Miller was not a famous name till then but his electrifying 100 off  38 deliveries pushed him up to instant stardom in IPL history . Miller represented Kings XI Punjab in the match and smashed the century against opposition Royal Challengers Bangalore. He also hit 7 sixes and 8 fours in the match,  launching  a brutal assault on RCB bowling. 

2nd    Yusuf Pathan – 37 balls

Yusuf Pathan was a part of Rajasthan Royals 2008 IPL winning team and was a huge threat to bowlers in T20 cricket .  It was always on the cards that he may score a 100 very quickly if he stays on long enough and that moment came very soon after 2008  .  Yusuf holds the record for the 2nd fastest century in the Indian Premier League which he achieved in IPL 2010. He smashed a quickfire century off just 37 balls while playing for Rajasthan Royals which blew away the  opposition Mumbai Indians  at their home ground in  Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Pathan also smashed 8 sixes and 9 boundaries during his blazing knock.  

1st   Chris Gayle- 30 balls

Its no surprise that Chris Gayle still holds the record of IPLs fastest ever hundred .   Gayle hit a century off just 30 deliveries in IPL 2013 and this is the fastest century ever witnessed in the Indian Premier League. While playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, opener Gayle smashed the century against Pune Warriors at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. His enormous hitting and the sizes of his sixes were too big for the small ground at Bangalore  .  After reaching his century, Gayle went on to score an unbeaten 175 runs — still the highest score in an IPL match .  The ” Universe Boss ” hit a staggering number of 17 sixes and 13 fours in the match as the helpless  Pune Warriors sank without a trace . 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *