Story of 10 IPL teams; Story of IPL 2011

Spread the love

Story of IPL 2011

The last article told us why Pakistani players could not be a part of the Indian Premier League 2010 and also the big bomb mystery at the stadium but each IPL has a new story and IPL season 4 has abundant stories waiting to be told.

So, it was the year 2011 and the Board of Control for Cricket in India was ready with the latest edition of the league. Season 4 of IPL or IPL 2011 was hosted in India with an opening and closing ceremony held in the same stadium, M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. Story of IPL 2011 the usual IPL months April and May were chosen for the league to be held and the tournament ran from April 8, 2011, to May 28, 2011.

This year was special in one more aspect and that was the number of competing teams. The number of franchises participating in the league had increased from 8 to 10. Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala made their debut in the IPL in season 4. These two teams made the 2011 season the only edition of IPL where 10 teams participated.

New format

The addition of two new teams in the event called for a new ten-team format. The new format consisted of 74 matches. This new format was introduced not to increase the number of matches as if the old format would have been followed, the teams would play 94 matches in total. Before the addition of 2 more teams, there were 60 matches in the league.

A few more changes were introduced to suit the new format. The Knock-out stage was changed to playoff format and if the match ended in a tie, a Super Over would be played to ascertain the winner of the match.

Teams were divided into two groups and during the group stage, each team played 14 matches, facing the other 4 teams in their group 2 times. Each team faced the teams in the other group also but 4 teams in the other group were faced only once. The remaining 2 teams were to play 2 matches. The rival teams were decided randomly using a draw system.

A four-game playoff stage followed the first level which included Qualifier 1, Eliminator, Qualifier 2, and Final. 

Qualifier 1 is held between the teams ranked first and second in the group stage. The Eliminator is played between teams ranked third and fourth in the group stage. Qualifier 2 brings the loser team of Qualifier 1 and the winner team of the Eliminator round. Winner teams of Qualifier 1 and 2 face each other in the final.

The top three teams from the tournament qualify for the 2011 Champions League Twenty20 while the fourth team enters the qualifying stage of the tournament. 

Winners and awards

Chennai Super Kings again established its supremacy in the tournament with its 2nd win in a row. CSK defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore again to claim the title by 58 runs. Murali Vijay from CSK grabbed the title of the Man of the Match too. For CSK it was a record win as the team had become the first team to have won the title twice and the record was maintained till 2014. 

Story of IPL 2011

Chris Gayle shone throughout the tournament even though his team RCB could not win the trophy. Gayle was named the best player of the tournament scoring 608 runs in 12 innings. He also performed amazingly well with the ball and took 8 wickets which made him a dreaded player in the Story of IPL 2011. 

Just like Gayle Lasith Malinga playing for Mumbai Indians became the best in the IPL. He had created magic with his superb bowling and had taken 28 wickets. Mumbai could not be in the final and had to content itself with the third position in the league.

The points table will help us understand the score and standing of the teams better. So let’s have a look at the comprehensible numbers.

1.BRoyal Challengers Bangalore14941190.326
2.BChennai Super Kings14950180.443
3.AMumbai Indians14950180.40
4.BKolkata Knight Riders14860160.433
5.AKings XI Punjab1477014-0.051
6.BRajasthan Royals1467113-0.691
7.ADeccan Chargers14680120.222
8.BKochi Tuskers Kerala1468012-0.214
9.APune Warriors144919-0.134
10.ADelhi Daredevils144919-0.448

Story of IPL 2011 this is how the drama unfolded in the year 2011. But you can see the new additions did not perform well and you read that this was the only season where 10 teams participated in the IPL. So, what happened to the 2 new teams? Did the franchises continue? Wait for the next story and find out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *