Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

SMAT S/Fs : TamilNadu & Karnataka to meet in final . Video link : Nalakande’s hattrick went in vain 

Tamil Nadu & Karnataka  has entered the final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. While TamilNadu decimated Hyderabad by 8 wickets , the second final between   Karnataka and Vidarbha was a thriller with Karnataka winning by just 4 runs .
 Vidarbha won the toss and elected to field first. Darshan Nalakande took 4 wickets while bowling brilliantly in the death overs. Nalkande, who came to bowl the last over, took wickets on the second, third, fourth and fifth balls.
23 year old  Nalkande, who came in the last over of the first innings, dismissed Anirudh Joshi on the second ball for  1. On the third ball, BR Sharath and on the fourth ball Jagdish Suchit became the victim of a duck through catches . Abhinav Manohar, playing a fine  cameo, was caught on the fifth ball of Nalkande. Nalakande took 4 wickets for 28 runs in his four overs.

all iomages credits the sportsrush

Karnataka’s opening batsmen – Rohan Kadam and skipper Manish Pandey’s swashbuckling batting tormented Vidarbha’s bowlers. Both shared a 132-run partnership for the first wicket. Rohan scored 87 runs in 56 balls with the help of 7 fours and 4 sixes. Pandey played an innings of 54 runs in 42 balls. Apart from these, only Abhinav Manohar (27 runs in 13 balls, two sixes and two fours) could show some fight.

In reply Vidarbha made a spirited attempt to chase down a big target but kept losing wickets whenever they threatened to get a partnership going as a result,there were many 20s & 30s but no big scores in their chase with Atharva Taide top scoring with 32 of 16 balls . Shibham Dubey hit 24 off 16 . Apoorva Wankhede (27*off 22) & Akshay Karnewar (22 off 12) nearly chased down the target with brave hitting but they fell agonisingly short by 4 runs .

Earlier Tamil Nadu trounced Hyderabad in the first semi-final on the back of sone lethal bowling by medium pacer P Savarna Kumar. Kumar took 5 wickets for 21 runs. Batting first in the final held in Delhi itself, the entire team of Hyderabad got just 90 runs out. Only one batsman could cross the double figures. In reply, Tamil Nadu won the match with 34 balls to spare on a canter.

Click on below video link to view Darshan Nalkhande’s futile hattrick

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment