Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

SMAT:  Manish Pandey takes Karnataka to semis with superover win .  TN, Hyd, Vidarbha cruise in other QFs 

Manish Pandey hit a six in the Super Over after hitting a brilliant run out in the last ball of the 20th over to give Karnataka a thrilling win against Bengal in the quarter-finals of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament here on Thursday.

Batting first, Karnataka scored 160 runs for five wickets in 20 overs, while chasing the target, Bengal’s team could only score 160 runs for eight wickets in 20 overs. In the super over, the Bengal team lost both the wickets for five runs in four balls. Karnataka won the match with Pandey’s six in the Super Over with four balls to spare. Earlier, after Bengal winning the toss and electing to bowl, Karnataka’s batsmen did not get a chance to play freely. Rohan Kadam (30 off 29 balls) and Pandey (29 off 34 balls) struggled to score quick runs.

Karun Nair (55 not out in 29 balls) played an unbeaten half-century to take the team to a competitive score. He got good support from Abhinav Manohar (19 runs in nine balls) and Anirudh Joshi (16 runs in 10 balls) who got the runs fast. Nair hit four fours and three sixes in his innings. Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep, Syan Ghosh, Hrithik Chatterjee and Shahbaz Ahmed took one wicket each for Bengal. Chasing a target of 161 runs for victory, the Bengal team got off to a quick start by scoring 22 runs in 10 balls through Shreevats Goswami but 2nd opener Abhishek Das was out for nought . 

all images credits the sportsrush

Hrithik Chatterjee scored 51 off 40 balls and Hrithik Roy Chowdhury scored an unbeaten 36 off 18 balls to take the team closer to the target. Bengal needed 20 runs to win in the last over. Former India Under-25 all-rounder Hrithik Roy Chowdhury hit  sixes off the first two balls of Vidyadhar Patil (1 for 47) and then took a single to get Akash Deep on strike . Akash Deep equalized the score by taking first four and then two runs. Bengal needed a run off the last ball but was run out on Pandey’s accurate throw at the other end. For Karnataka  MB Darshan took 3 and Suchit took 2 wickets . 
The results of other 3 quarterfinals which were largely onesided affairs were as under 

Tamil Nadu 187 for 5 (Sudharsan 46, Shankar 33, Manukrishnan 3-26) beat Kerala 181 for 4 (Vinod 65*, Kunnummal 51, Sanjay 2-23) by five wickets

Hyderabad 158 for 5 (Tilak 75, Chawla 2-9) beat  Gujarat 128 for 8 (Ripal 35, Teja 3-27) by 30 runs

Vidharbha 87 for 1 (Taide 40) beat Rajasthan 84 for 8 (Nagarkoti 39, Thakur 2-24, Karnewar 1-7) by nine wickets.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment