Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Shreyas Iyer gets man of the match on his debut test.  16th Indian to hit 100 on debut.- Full list. 

Shreyas Iyer of Mumbai has proved his credentials in the greatest format of the game. After producing two classy knocks , Shreyas did not give anyone a chance in the 1st test to get the player of the match award.

Looking back at Shreyas’ performance, in the first innings India was  in a tricky situation at 106/3 , when Shreyas stepped in to play the likes of Jamieson and a seasoned Tim Southee . He showed exemplary temperament and picked the right ball to hit. He lost skipper Rahane at 147/4 . However he never lost his composure and constructed a solid 113 run stand with Jadeja (50) and was finally out for a top quality 105 . India reached 345. 

all images credits

In the second innings India rapidly disintegrated to 51/5 when Iyer, in the middle of an alarming collapse ,  stayed strong and had a crucial 50 plus partnership with Ashwin (32) and then another invaluable partnership with a gritty Wriddhiman Saha (61*) who batted with a stiff neck . Shreyas was finally dismissed for 65 and thus scored 170 runs in the match and the only debutant to get a 100 & a 50 in the same test . 

The biggest a achievement for Shreyas was that he became the 16th Indian to score a century on debut . Here is the full list of 16 centurions .

Batsman                               Score     Opposition

1. Lala Amarnath                   118         England (1933)

2. Deepak Shodan                110          Pakistan (1952)

3. AG Kripal Singh                100*         New Zealand (1955)

4. Abbas Ali Baig                   112          England (1959)

5. Hanumant Singh               105          England (1964)

6. Gundappa Viswanath        137          Australia (1969)

7. Surinder Amarnath            124          New Zealand (1976)

8. Mohammad Azharuddin    110          England (1984)

9. Pravin Amre                      103          South Africa (1992)

10. Sourav Ganguly              131          England (1996)

11. Virender Sehwag             105         South Africa (2001)

12. Suresh Raina                  120          Sri Lanka (2010)

13. Shikhar Dhawan              187         Australia (2013)

14. Rohit Sharma                  127         West Indies (2013)

15. Prithvi Shaw                    134         West Indies (2018)

16. Shreyas Iyer                    105         New Zealand (2021)

Now it remains to be seen whether Shreyas Iyer keeps his spot in the next test after Virat Kohli returns to the team XI

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment