Royal Challengers Bangalore end up as runners-up for the third time without winning the title even once- IPL 2016

Spread the love

RCB end up as runners-up for the third time without winning the title even once- IPL 2016

Indian Premier League season 8 or IPL 2015 saw the suspension of 2 important franchises and popular teams which were Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings due to a spot-fixing and betting scandal. You must be wondering why we are talking about the 8th season when we should be starting with the 9th edition of IPL. Well, season 8 becomes important because it gave way to the inclusion of 2 new teams in IPL as after the suspension of Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings, the tournament had only 6 teams to compete. The new teams introduced in 2016 were Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants.

The league this year started on April 9 and the season ended on May 20, 2016. But as you know the journey of each IPL starts with auctions and then finally the grand day arrives and the tournament begins with a majestic opening ceremony.

The opening ceremony in 2016 was held at Sardar Vallabhbahi Patel Stadium in Mumbai and the ceremony boasted performances from Major Lazer, Yo Yo Honey Singh, Ranveer Singh, Katrina Kaif, Jacqueline Fernandez, and other stars.

The “Champion Dance”

2016 IPL opening ceremony had one more special feature which the other IPL seasons could not even dream of. It was the popular “Champion Dance” performed by Dwayne Bravo. Bravo, a member of the West Indies’ 2016 World Twenty20 winning team, became the most “special attraction” of the 2016 opening ceremony. Even IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla admitted the same.

Mumbai water crisis

Mumbai was scheduled to host 13 matches of the 9th edition of IPL but that was before a severe drought hit the financial capital of the country. The crisis was so severe that in some parts of Mumbai hospitals had to cancel operations not being able to meet the required water supply. In this state, the High Court in Mumbai dismissed all the arguments in favor of the tournament. Water could not be provided for the pitches to be prepared when people were thirsty for even drinking water.

The court also criticized BCCI for being insensitive towards its own people and realizing the gravity of the situation. We all know that IPL was not canceled that year. So, what happened? Who won?

Needless to say, the court had its say even though the board did not shy away from pleading in the Supreme Court. Except for 1 match that was scheduled to take place on May 1, all the matches were moved out of Maharashtra and the new venues included Vishakhapatnam, Mohali, and Bangalore.

Do you know that the board also tried to host these matches in Rajasthan? Yes, it did. And if you know about the drought of 2016, you would know that Rajasthan was also one of the affected states. Jaipur streets were seen replete with protestors when the board announced the matches that were to be played in Rajasthan but we all know it remained a dream.

The winners and the “could be winners”

RCB end up as runners-up for the third time without winning the title even once- IPL 2016

Sunrisers Hyderabad won their 2nd IPL title this year and left Royal Challengers Bangalore to be the Runners up for the 3rd time. This would have been harsh for the team. The team fought till the end but could not clinch the trophy. Ben cutting from the winning team was declared the Man of the Match in the final.

But the real star turned out to be Virat Kohli who not only was named the most valuable player of the tournament but also collected the most runs in the season. His tally of runs boasts of an impressive score of 973 which includes the maximum number of sixes in the season. Kohli was followed by Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Bravo with 848 runs and from his own team AB de Villiers with 687 runs.

The most impressive bowler that season turned out to be Bhuvneshwar Kumar with his 23 wickets. Next in line were players from the runners-up team, Yuzvendra Chahal and Shane Watson.

Now that we know who the stars of the season were, let’s have a look at the points table to understand the pitfalls of other teams.

1.Gujarat Lions1495018-0.374
2.Royal Challengers Bangalore14860160.932
3.Sunrisers Hyderabad14860160.245
4.Kolkata Knight Riders14860160.106
5.Mumbai Indians1477014-0.146
6.Delhi Daredevils1477014-0.155
7.Rising Pune Supergiants14590100.015
8.Kings XI Punjab1441008-0.646

So this season ended with Kings XI Punjab at the bottom and a new team Gujarat Lions at the top and yet the team landed at the third spot in the points table won the tournament. Cricket is an interesting game full of surprises. Won’t you agree?

We will meet you with the story of IPL 2017 soon. Stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *