Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Prithvi & Surya added to the revised Indian squad for Eng tests 

As per the earlier news doing the rounds, Prithvi Shaw and Suryakumar Yadav have both been drafted into the revised Indian squad for the 5 test series vs England to begin from 4th August.

Due to injury issues both Shubman Gill (leg injury ) and Washington Sundar ( fractured finger) have left the tour. The standby fast bowler Avesh Khan also had to leave the tour due to a fractured finger.  Incidentally both Avesh and Sundar sustained injuries in the tour game in which they were representing the combined county XI against the India XI. Due to unavailability of several players in the county team. 

Prithvi & Surya added to the revised Indian squad for Eng tests 
image credits cricaddictor, feature image credits ICC

In the past few days, there were talks of Shaw, Surya , Devdutt Paddikal and Jayant Yadav as replacements for the injured players. But finally, the team management in England has settled down with two players Prithvi and Surya, both batsmen. 

Prithvi had a difficult test tour of Australia. But since then has scored heavily in Indian domestic cricket and now looks in sparkling touch. He will be going as an opening batsman option. Prithvi & Surya added to the revised Indian squad for Eng tests  .

2021 has been a year of turnaround for Suryakumar Yadav. After years of heavy scoring in domestic cricket and IPL the thirty plus batsman has made his T20 debut in March this year against England. Followed up with a successful ODI debut in Srilanka. He has been in sublime form in the last two years. It is a great moment for him to get selected into the Test squad. Due to certain injury concerns with Rahane.  


The revised squad is as under : 

India squad for England Tests: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment