Mumbai Won Vijay Hazare Trophy for the 4th time

Spread the love
  • Mumbai defeated Uttar Pradesh by 6 wickets in the final match played at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
  • In Mumbai’s victory, Aditya Tare scored superb unbeaten 118 and captain Prithvi Saw played stormy inning of 73 runs
  • With the help of Madhav Kaushik’s unbeaten 158, Uttar Pradesh scored 312 runs for four wickets in 50 overs
  • In reply, three-time former champion Mumbai achieved the difficult target in 41.3 overs

New Delhi: Mumbai has won the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the fourth time. Mumbai beat Uttar Pradesh by 6 wickets thanks to Aditya Tare’s superb century (118 *) and in-form captain Prithvi Shaw’s stormy half-century (73). In the final of the National One-Day Championship played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi on Sunday, with the help of opener Madhav Kaushik’s unbeaten 158 runs, Uttar Pradesh scored a huge score of 312 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in the scheduled 50 overs. But ahead of Mumbai’s strong batting, the target fell short. Three-time former champion Mumbai achieved the target in 41.3 overs.

Chasing a target of 313 runs, Mumbai got a stormy start by Prithvi Shaw and Yashaswi Jaiswal, who made the record for the most runs in the tournament. Both hit 89 runs in 9.1 overs. However, a very aggressive batting Prithvi Shaw was caught out by Shivam Mavi at the hands of Sameer Rizvi. Prithvi hit 73 runs in just 39 balls, scoring 10 chokes and 4 sixes.

After this Yashswi’s wicket fell. Shivam Sharma, who was playing well, got UP’s second success by getting caught by Shivam Mavi. Jaiswal scored 29 runs in 30 balls with the help of 3 fours and a six. From here, Aditya Tare hold the front and led the team to a swift victory.

At the other end, the wickets of Shams Mulani (36) and Shivam Dubey (42) fell, but the stars returned with an unbeaten 118 from 107 balls with the help of 18 fours. Sarfaraz Khan scored an unbeaten 3 in two balls. Aditya gave Yash Dayan the winning four, giving Mumbai a fourth title win.

Earlier, with the help of opener Madhav Kaushik’s unbeaten 158, Uttar Pradesh scored 312 runs for four wickets in 50 overs. Kaushik hit 15 fours and four sixes in his 156-ball innings. He added 122 runs for the first wicket with Samarth Singh (55) giving Uttar Pradesh a brilliant start. Samarth hit four fours and three sixes in 73 balls.

Uttar Pradesh initially took a cautious approach, winning the toss and batting. Samarth Singh hit the first boundary for the team in the fifth over. After a slow start, Kaushik batted in a good rhythm. He scored 14 runs in the eighth over with the help of two fours and a six. Kaushik completed the half-century in 75 and Samarth in 71 balls. Meanwhile, Mumbai skipper Prithvi Sawa had to go out of the ground due to a ball in his left foot fielding the first slip in the 24th over but after treatment he returned to fielding.

The spinners then quickly brought Mumbai back with two wickets in hand. Leg-spinner Prashant Solanki (one wicket for 71 runs) trapped Samarth on a fast ball. Off-spinner Tanush Kotian (two wickets for 54 runs) caught Karan Sharma (00) at the hands of wicketkeeper Aditya Tare and Uttar Pradesh scored 123 for two. Priyam Garg, after scoring 21 runs, gave a catch to Shivam Dubey at the mid-off off Cotian.

Kaushik, however, held one end. He got a great partner in the form of Akshdeep Nath (55 runs, four fours, three sixes). Both shared a 128-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Kaushik completed his first century of List A career in 125 balls with a six over Solanki. He then completed 150 off 154 balls. Thanks to the innings of Kaushik and Akshdeep, the team managed to cross the 300-run mark by adding 111 runs in the last 10 overs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *