Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


West Indies has announced their T20I World cup squad. There are a few stunning surprises in their selection. They have omitted Jason Holder who is one of the leading all-rounders in other formats and is also a very capable T20I player who can execute long hits and a very dependable bowler in the middle overs. Holder has shown his prowess in T20 in IPL. 

Another big surprise is a recall of Ravi Rampal, the medium-fast bowler who last played a decade back. 

image credits ICC, featured image credits cricaddictor

Also, a surprise that Akeal  Hosein is kept in the reserves instead of in the main squad. He did well in the T20Is recently vs Australia 

The batting looks ominous with Evin Lewis, Simmons, Andre Flecher, Pooran , Heytmer,  Russell & Pollard, all available to smash opposition bowlers 

The bowling looks decent with tearaway  quick Oshane Thomas their strike bowler along with Obed McCoy and bowling all-rounder Dwayne Bravo. Now Ravi Rampal Is also selected in the side .  The spin department looks formidable with Hayden Walsh Jr  and allrounder Fabien Allen . 
All in all a formidable side but could have done well with better selections.

West Indies squad: Kieron Pollard (capt), Nicholas Pooran (vice-capt), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle,  Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Reserves: Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Sheldon Cottrell, Darren Bravo

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment