Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

IPL flashback : IPL final 2009 , Deccan Charges vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

The 2009 IPL was held in South Africa due to the general elections in India . After a gruelling season 4 teams , Deccan Chargers , Delhi Daredevils,  Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings reached the semis . RCB beat CSK to move to the finals  and helped by a brilliant 35 ball 85 by Adam Gilchrist , the Deccan Chargers beat the star studded Delhi Daredevils to reach the final for a face off against RCB .

The final was played at Johannesburg.  Batting first Deccan Chargers suffered a huge blow in the first over itself when RCB skipper Anil Kumble enticed Deccan Chargers skipper Gilchrist to play a false shot to be caught and Deccan Chargers lost their first wicket in the very first over. 


Hershelle Gibbs played a solid innings to hold the Deccan innings together as Andrew Symonds batted fluently and was looking ominous as he scored a brisk 33 off 21 balls before he played on to Kumble . 

Rohit Sharma,batted well  for his 24 but not many runs came from the lower order.  It was Hershelle Gibbs who stayed till the end scoring a stubborn 53 off 48 balls to ensure at Deccan Chargers reach a competitive 143/6 in 20 overs .
For RCB , Kumble was excellent, taking 4/16 while 2 wickets went to Vinay Kumar 

imgae credits hindustan times

In reply RCB started poorly losing Pandey (4) and Kallis (15) cheaply . Roelof Van der Merwe batted in belligerent fashion scoring a 21 ball 32 but Pragyan Ojha got him  out . Dravid (9) , Kohli (7) Boucher (5) all went cheaply as Ojha  Symonds and Hermeet Singh controlled the middle overs excellently . Ross Taylor (27) and Uthappa (17 not out) tried their best but the Deccan bowling attack was at their best on the biggest day while wickets kept tumbling for RCB . Finally they fell short by just 6 runs to end at 137/9 and Deccan Chargers won a thriller of a final 

Take part in interesting online quizzes

For Deccan ,Ojha took 3 wickets while Harmeet and Symonds took 2 each while RP Singh bowled magnificently to get 1 for 16 in his 4 overs .

Kumble was the player of the match but the evening belonged to Deccan Chargers as they lifted their 1st and only IPL trophy .

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

Our biggest stories delivered
to your inbox