IPL 2021 : Royal Challengers Bangaluru Team analysis

Spread the love


Royal Challengers Bangaluru are one of the three most followed IPL teams in social media. However even after 13 years of IPL , they are yet to get their 1st title . They have had three of the greatest exponents of T20 batting in their line up for most of the 13 years ( Gayle , Kohli & Devilliers) but remained title-less due to their thin bowling resources . 

In more recent years they tried to shore up their bowling but to no avail in terms to getting titles . They did manage to get to the playoffs in 2020 but lost tamely again. 

Virat Kohli is likely to open the batting this season which means De Villiers is likely to play at 3 which will open up a high batting spot for the unpredictable Glen Maxwell . RCB chances in 2021 will depend a lot on how good a tournament Glen Maxwell have this season .  Maxwell inspite of his great T20I record , has historically played much below his potential in IPLs  and has been a subject of much ridicule amongst Indian  cricket fans . 

The bowling should start with Siraj , Saini and Chahal followed by Kane Richardson and  Jamieson with Zampa and Sams in the wings . 

Strengths :  

Fabulous top order batting , if fires regularly can pose big scores.  Got hard hitting options in middle and lower order with Maxwell & Jamieson . 

Weaknesses :  

Outside first XI,  not a  strong set of Indian reserve bench players . May have to play a new Indian middle order batsman this season . Jamieson not experienced in Indian conditions and Maxwel is an enigma .  Once again a very predictable bowling attack. 

RCB will have most matches in Kolkata and Ahmedabad followed by Mumbai and Chennai .   Kolkata pitch pace & carry can help their faster  bowlers 

Chances :

Can reach playoffs if the team gel together and key players deliver consistently .

Probable XI
Paddikal , Kohli, De Villiers , Maxwell , Azharudeen , Sundar , Jamieson , Kane Richardson , Saini , Siraj and Chahal 

Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Kane Richardson, Washington Sundar, Pavan Deshpande, Finn Allen , Shahbaz Ahamad, Navdeep Saini, Adam Zampa, Kyle Jamieson, Glenn Maxwell, Rajat Patidar, Sachin Baby, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Dan Christian, KS Bharat, Suyash Prabhudessai, Daniel Sams, Harshal Patel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *