IPL 2013 was the season of team termination

Spread the love

IPL 2013 was the season of team termination

IPL 2013 was the season of team termination, Rave parties, arrests, bans, and performances by Bollywood superstars and international stars like Katy Perry are a few of many highlights of the IPL season 2012. But the year has changed now and we have entered into another story from the Indian Premier League Saga.

This was the year 2013 and 9 IPL teams were about to start with the 6th season of the IPL. But like all the previous seasons, this edition of the IPL was also full of twists and turns, ups and downs. Let’s take this journey together to understand how this season was one-of-a-kind like the rest of the IPL seasons.

The 6th edition of the IPL was played from April 3 to May 26, 2013, and it was the first time that PepsiCo was the title sponsor of the league. This year also marked the first win of Mumbai Indians who have been playing great since season one but luck did not favor the team. This year they lifted their first-ever IPL trophy, beating Chennai Super Kings in the final match by 23 runs. 

Turn of termination

Last season which was the IPL 2012 saw the termination of Kochi Tuskers Kerala as the franchise failed to abide by the terms and conditions laid down by the board and this year another team was thrown out of the league. Deccan Chargers, who was going strong in the IPL, having won the title in 2009, was terminated. Owners tried their best to save the team but even after several attempts with the Bombay High Court and Supreme Court of India, the franchise lost and a new team came into existence. 

Board of Control for Cricket in India invited bidders soon after the termination of the Deccan Chargers to replace the franchise with another team based in Hyderabad which was named Sunrisers Hyderabad. It was announced on October 25, 2012, that Sun TV Network had won the bid at 850.5 million per year. 

Impressive Initiation

The India Premier League does not make any compromises when it comes to splendor. 2012 season was an example of the grand celebration that the start of the league brings and season 2013 carried forward the tradition. 

IPL 2013 was the season of team termination
IPL 2013 was the season of team termination

The opening ceremony was held at the biggest stadium in India and the 2nd largest in the world by capacity, the Salt Lake Stadium or Yuva Bharti Krirangan in Kolkata. All nine teams were led by the team captains to take the MCC Spirt of Cricket pledge. The Chief Minister of West Bengal graced the occasion with her presence and the ceremony was marked by the dazzling performances of Bollywood superstars like Shahrukh Khan, Katrina Kaif, and Deepika Padukone. The board did not forget to include the international touch. American rapper Pitbull performed in the opening ceremony and made it memorable.

Stars of the season

We all know this season gave Mumbai Indians the honor to lift the trophy while Chennai Super Kings had to be content with the title of the runners-up. CSK was still struggling to win the title for the third time which would have been a record in the IPL as no team till now had won the IPL twice except for CSK.

Chennai Super kings’ Michael Hussey won the award for making the most runs in the season which was 733. And CSK’s Dwayne Bravo was awarded the title for the most wicket-taker as he took 32 wickets. So, all in all not a bad season for CSK.

The Player of the Season was Shane Watson from Rajasthan Royals.

Let’s visit the points table to understand the place of all the participating teams.

1.Chennai Super Kings161150220.530
2.Mumbai Indians161150220.441
3.Rajasthan Royals161060200.322
4.Sunrisers Hyderabad161060200.003
5.Royal Challengers Bangalore16970180.457
6.Kings XI Punjab16880160.225
7.Kolkata Knight Riders16610012-0.095
8.Pune Warriors India1641208-1.006
9.Delhi Daredevils1631306-0.848
IPL 2013 was the season of team termination


IPL and controversies go hand in hand and this season was no different. This season was marred by spot-fixing and the names that appeared in the controversy shocked everyone. Rajasthan Royals’ Sreesanth, Ankeet Chavan, and Ajit Chandalia were accused of participating in spot-fixing and were arrested by Delhi Police from Mumbai’s Trident Hotel for the same. They were accompanied by 7 bookies. The players were accused of spot-fixing two matches which were held on May 9 and 15, 2013 against Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians respectively.

Another controversial event of the IPL 2013 was the withdrawal of the Pune Warriors from the league due to disagreements with their franchisee fees for the BCCI.  

We have not come even halfway in the saga of the IPL and there is so much to tell. We know you are waiting for more and we promise to bring more interesting content from IPL 2014 in the next story. Stay tuned!

This Concludes the topic IPL 2013 was the season of team termination

Also Read:-

IPL Season 5 or the season of controversies?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *