Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

The first match of the three-match ODI series between India and New Zealand will be played tomorrow at 7 am Indian time in Auckland.  Major changes will be made in the playing eleven of Team India for the first ODI against New Zealand.   India had to face a 0-3 defeat in the ODI series at the hands of New Zealand under the leadership of Virat Kohli in the year 2020 and Team India would like to forget this past defeat and start afresh.

 India’s 5 senior players captain Rohit Sharma, charismatic batsman Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja are not playing in this series and in such a situation it will be known to some extent in which direction the team is moving forward.  Shikhar Dhawan is leading the team in the absence of these senior players.  Shikhar Dhawan has scored almost 1000 runs in ODIs in the last two years.  In the last two years, he has played only in this format.  If seen, both Kohli and Rohit have played only one-third ODIs as compared to Dhawan, as they focused more on Tests and T20s.

 Meanwhile, Shubman Gill proved himself as an opener in ODIs.  In all the ODIs he has played so far, his average is more than 57 runs per innings and the strike rate is more than 100.  In such a situation, India will have three players Rohit, Dhawan and Gill as openers.

image credits twitter

 Rahul has been playing in the middle order in ODIs.  India also have Shreyas Iyer in the middle order, who has done consistently well despite having trouble playing short pitched balls.  Suryakumar Yadav is currently running in excellent form and if he remains fit then he cannot be dropped.

Sanju Samson also cannot be ignored for long, while it would not be right to exclude Deepak Hooda due to his all-round game.  If we talk about the series, then three ODIs will be played within five days and in such a situation the fast bowlers will have to recover from fatigue as soon as possible.  Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur can be entrusted with the new ball.  Both of them will also provide the option of batting in the lower order.

 Arshdeep Singh can be the third option, but he is playing continuously and in such a situation Kuldeep Sen or Umran Malik can get a chance.  Among the spinners, Washington Sundar is likely to get a place in the playing XI.  Eden Park ground is small and in such a situation, Dhawan will have to consider whether to play with an additional fast bowler or keep an additional spinner in the form of Kuldeep Yadav.

As for New Zealand , Trent Boult and Martin Guptill will not figure in the ODIs which is a blow for the hosts.   Michael Bracewell will be back in the XI . As for the rest most of the T20I team players will be playing for New Zealand  
Their is some rain forecasts  and the match will start at  7 AM IST .  The ODI matches will live streamed in Amazon Prime and will be shown in DD sports 

Probable XIs 
India: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal 

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (C), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson 

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

Our biggest stories delivered
to your inbox