Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

India squad for T20I World Cup announced

BCCI have announced the 15 member squad for the T20 World Cup 2021 starting from October 17th, 2021. India kick off their T20 World Cup campaign against Pakistan on October 24th. 

India’s squad 15-member squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Standby players – Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.

One of the big news from the meeting is that Former Indian Captain MS Dhoni to mentor Team India in the World Cup. The team management wants to use the huge experience of Dhoni in white ball cricket to good effect . It will be Dhoni’s first return to Team India dressing room after 2019 ODI World Cup.

As Washington Sundar is injure and there is no experienced off-spin spinner except Ashwin. Who takes the ball away from the left-hander. So the team management has backed Ashwin to do the job as an off-spinner in the side. Ashwin is making a  comeback into the side after 4 years as he played his last T20I against West Indies in 2017.  India squad for T20I World Cup announced .

India squad for T20I World Cup announced
imagr credits dnaindia, featured image credits timesnow

Suryakumar and Ishan Kishan ,who made their debut against England in March 2021. Have retained their spots on the strength of good performances.

The main surprise is that only three frontline pacers have been selected in the 15 members squad. In spin department ,Yuzvendra Chahal has been dropped and Rahul Chahar is select as the frontline leg spinner after his excellent performances in IPL and recent Sri Lankan tour . Varun Chakravarthy the mystery spinner and Jadeja and Axar as spinning all-rounders are also include. As UAE tracks traditionally help slow bowlers.

However, in the standby list, two fast bowlers are pick.  Shardul Thakur & Deepak Chahar.  Also Shreyas Iyer finds a spot in the standbys. 


With Jadeja as the frontline spin allrounder along with Axar Patel , there was no vacancy for Krunal Pandya . 
India will start their World cup campaign with their first match against Pakistan on 24 October 2021 .

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment