Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

India escapes defeat as rain forces no result in 3rd ODI, NZ win series 1-0

New Zealand has won the ODI series after losing the T20 series.  Under the captaincy of Kane Williamson, the Kiwi team won the ODI series 1-0.  Two matches of the ODI series were cancelled due to rain while India had to face defeat in the first match.  Team India was on the verge of defeat in the third ODI as well but the rain forced a premature end to the match .  India could only score 219 runs and in reply New Zealand team had scored 104 runs in 18 overs.  Then it rained in Christchurch and according to the Duckworth-Lewis rule, the result of the match could not come because in ODI cricket, at least 20 overs are necessary before the match is stopped.

 India’s batting proved to be a flop in Christchurch.  Only Washington Sundar and Shreyas Iyer bothered to stay on the wicket.  Sundar scored a resilient  51 and Shreyas Iyer scored a fluent  49 runs.  Apart from them , Captain Dhawan 28, Shubman Gill 13, Rishabh Pant could score only 10 runs.  Suryakumar Yadav got out after scoring only 6 runs.  Deepak Hooda scored only 12 runs to complete a disappointing Indian batting show . 

image credits ICC

 In this rain-affected match, New Zealand opener Finn Allen scored a brilliant half-century.  He scored 57 runs in 54 balls.  Devon Conway scored 38 not out.  Umran Malik got the only wicket for India.  Darryl Mitchell took 3 wickets from New Zealand in the Indian innings while Adam Milne also took three victims.  Tim Southee took two wickets.  Lockie Ferguson and Santner got 1 wickets each .

  Indian team has lost the second consecutive ODI series in New Zealand with the current loss .  In the year 2020 also, Team India had won the T20 series but in the ODI series, it got a crushing defeat by 0-3.  This time also India won the T20 series and got defeated in the ODI series.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

Our biggest stories delivered
to your inbox