India dominates the ICC teams of the decade with Dhoni and Kohli as skippers

Spread the love

The year 2020 is coming to end and though the year has been full of turbulence but the cricket world has brought good news to bring some sweetness into this otherwise bitter year. International Cricket Council (ICC) announced teams of the decade on Sunday and Indian seems to be ruling the international field. Awards Nominations Committee determined the nominees as per their on-field performances and overall achievements for at least previous five years.

MS Dhoni who announced his retirement in August, 2020 was announced the captain of ICC’s ODI and T20 International cricket teams of the decade. Dhoni had been a legendary player and his retirement had shaken the world. Now, isn’t it the best title for the epic cricketer who has given the world endless cricket moments!

India’s dominance in world cricket

Virat Kohli has also made it into the team of the decade as the skipper of the Test team. It is not only Virat and Dhoni who are dominating the world cricket as skippers in limited over format and Test match but we have other players too in ODI and T20 International format. Inclusion of these players in the teams of the decade has made India ruling nation in limited over teams.

Rohit Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin also stand tall and strong alongside Dhoni and Kohli in ODI and T20 teams. Rohit Sharma is not only representing India in ODI but also in T20I.  On the other hand, Bumrah, has secured place for himself in T20 team.

Kohli holds a special place in teams of the decade

Kohli has made one more record along with being voted the captain of the Test team and that is even more interesting as he is the only cricketer in the world who is essential for all the formats. He is a part of the Test, ODI and T20 teams of the decade. This is something which doesn’t make only Kohli fans proud but establishes our captain’s dominance in world cricket. And cricket fans need to be alert for more happy news as Kohli is running for four more titles which will be announced on Monday. Kohli is in the race for ICC male cricketer of the decade, Men’s Test Cricketer, Men’s ODI Cricketer and Men’s T20I Cricketer of the decade.

India’s women’s team running ahead in the race

It is not only men’s cricket team which has made India proud with their ICC ranking in the Team of the decade but our females cricketers have also left us in awe. Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami have deservedly secured position in Women’s ICC ODI Team of the Decade. On the other hand, Poonam Yadav and Harmanpreet Kaur are proud members of Women’s Team of the Decade.

Let’s look at the complete picture

India is dominating T20I and Test team with maximum number of players in both the teams. Australia is being represented by Warner and Mitchell Starc in ODI and AB Di Villiers and Imran Tahir have made it into the list keeping South Africa in the game. England, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and New Zealand each have one player in the team which makes the ODI Team of the Decade.

In T20I, Gayle and Pollard have got West Indies running in the competition. Finch and Maxwell are representing Australia with the same number. De Villiers and Malinga have made it into the T20I list as well as ODI team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *