Fakkar Zaman (193 off 155 balls) heroics failed to save Pakistan as South Africa win by 17 runs

Spread the love

A brilliant 193 by Fakkar Zaman failed to rescue Pakistan as South Africa won a high scoring 2nd ODI by 17 runs at Johannesburg .

It was an awesome singlehanded effort by the lefthanded opener who carried the Pakistani innings right till the 50th over all by himself as the next highest score was 31 by Babar Azam.

Pakistan lost Imam ul Haq cheaply but Babar Azam looked in great touch and was playing gorgeous shots till he tried to pull a rapid short ball from Nortje who took 2 more wickets rapidly to reduce Pakistan to 93/5  chasing South Africa’s mammoth 341/5  . 

However Fakkar Zaman fought a lone battle as he favoured the shorter side boundary hitting his pull shots with aplomb against the fast bowlers hitting some huge sixes . He scored his 100 at a run a ball after which he exploded from time to time hitting leggie Shamsi for 3 consecutive sixes in the midwicket region causing some worries to Bavuma , the South African captain . However the fast bowlers came back and regained control of the innings getting Faheem and Afridi out and in the end Fakkar was left to do too much being runout for 193  hitting 18 fours and 10 sixes as South Africa closed out the game.
Nortje was the most impressive of South African bowlers .

Earlier superb batting by openers Markram (39) , Quinton D Kock (80) and Bavuma (92) put the Proteas on a strong base.  D Kock was struggling with his timing but held firm while Markram looked in great touch and Bavuma anchored the innings. The big shots came from Rassie Van Der Dussen (60 off 37 balls ) who hit some powerful legside shots and then lefthander David Miller( 50 off 27 balls) who played imperious shots to take South Africa to a great score . For Pakistan , Haris Rauf (3/54 ) was the most successful bowler. 

Fakkar Zaman for his outstanding and singlehandedly fighting knock was declared man of the match . 

RSA 341/6 (50 Ovs) 
Bavuma(c)       92(102)
de Kock(wk)    80(86)
Van Dussen     60(37)
Miller                 50*(27)
Haris Rauf     3/54
Faheem Ashraf    1/62

PAK 324/9 (50 Ovs) 
Fakhar Zaman   193(155)
Babar Azam(c)   31(33)
Nortje     3/63
Phehlukwayo    2/67
South Africa won by 17 runs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *