Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


South Africa has announced their T20I World cup squad. The team will be captained by Temba Bavuma and has a decent mix of batsmen, fast bowlers, spinners and allrounders.

However, 3 huge surprises are the omission of Faf Duplessis, Imran Tahir and Chris Morris. All 3 players have been performing well in various franchisee leagues including IPL and hence it was a big surprise from the South African selectors.

The team has a decent array of aggressive batsmen in De Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Markram, Van Dussen, David Miller and Klaasen who is the 2nd keeper.

The bowling attack looks to have a lot of firepower and flair. With Rabada and Nortje generating the pace, Ngidi, Moulder and Pretorius will move the ball and vary the pace.

Keeping in mind the that the World cup is in UAE, the Proteas have a fair sprinkling of spin options with world’s  top ranked T20I spinner Tabraiz Shamsi in their ranks. Also, they have George Linde and test spinner Keshav Maharaj also added to the squad. This will be Maharaj’s debut in T20I cricket 

Full squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, W Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

all images credist cricaddictor

South Africa have recently beat West Indies 3-2 in a 5 match T20I series and ate put in a strong group consisting of England , West indies &  Australia

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment