Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Commonwealth Games 2022 to host women’s T20I cricket

Great news for women’s World cricket !!

In the next Commonwealth Games scheduled at Birmingham in 2022, cricket will be one of the sporting disciplines. This is the first time that cricket will be held in Commonwealth Games since 1998. When South Africa won the men’s event.

In Birmingham, the women’s T20I event will be held for the first time in Commonwealth Games. Which will have around 4500 participants from 72 countries. Commonwealth Games 2022 to host women’s T20I cricket.

England has qualified directly and will be joined by Australia, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa and one team from the West Indies for which a qualifier is to be held.

The above teams have secured qualification as a result of their standings in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s T20I Team Rankings on 1 April 2021.

Commonwealth Games 2022 to host women's T20I cricket
Image credits cricshots , featured image credits crictracker

Since West Indies are represented by individual countries in Commonwealth Games. Qualifiers will decide which team from the islands qualify for cricket.

The cricket in the Commonwealth games will be scheduled from 28 July to 8 August.


Following the huge success of the women’s T20I final between Australia. India which saw 82000 plus capacity on the ground watching the game, the ICC intends further to drive the women’s game on a global platform.

The T20 captains of different countries, England, India and South Africa have already expressed their joy and gratitude for being able to participate in such a big Global Event .

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment