Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Best possible India XI for the T20I series in Sri Lanka

The second string Indian squad for the Srilanka white-ball tour with depart on 28 June for Srilanka. With many of the first-choice players busy in England, the Srilankan tour is a massive opportunity for many players to stake a strong claim for a spot in the World T20I squad. Best possible India XI for the T20I series in Sri Lanka.

The squad going to Srilanka has great batting talent and there will be a scramble for spots at the top of the order with players like Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Paddikal, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan and Surya Kumar Yadav in contention. For the bowlers, it great chance for Kuldeep Yadav to redeem himself and for Deepak Chahar and Navdeep Saini to come up with top-notch performances along with others.

Best possible India XI for the T20I series in Sri Lanka
all image credits sportskeeda

The team is led by Shikhar Dhawan with Bhuvneshwar Kumar as his deputy and the head coach is Rahul Dravid.

India’s squad is as follows: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

From the above pool of players, we have listed down the below best possible XI for the T20I series. Which assumes slightly more importance than the ODI series with the World T20I from October onwards.


Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw

Dhawan is the automatic choice as the captain and Shaw with his greater firepower compared to other openers should start with Dhawan. Moreover, their understanding is better as they open together for Delhi Capitals

Middle-order :

Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya

Surya Kumar Yadav had recently made his debut for India. Played superbly against England to take the 3rd spot in the team. Sanju Samson can steady the innings in the middle order. Can play outstanding shots, left-hander Ishan Kishan at 5 has tremendous firepower and he can keep wickets in this team. Hardik Pandya to come in at 6 in the slog overs and if he is fit, he may bowl a few overs.

Pace attack :

Bhuvneshwar Kumar to bat at 7 and he is the spearhead of the pace attack followed by Deepak Chahar and Navdeep Saini.



There are a lot of spinners in this squad but on form Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy should get first preference ahead of Krunal Pandya , Yazuvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav .

Hence the T20I XI

Shikhar Dhawan
Prithvi Shaw
Suryakumar Yadav
Sanju Samson
Ishan Kishan (wk)
Hardik Pandya
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Deepak Chahar
Navdeep Saini
Rahul Chahar
Varun Chakravarthy

However the players not chosen in the above XI are pretty well equipped to break into the XI. At any stage like a Krunal Pandya or a Paddikal

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment