Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

The final match of the IPL was played on Sunday (29 May) at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.  In the title match, Gujarat Titans won the title for the first time by defeating Rajasthan Royals.  With this match, the more than two months long tournament came to an end.  After the end of the IPL, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has opened the treasury for the curators and groundsmen.

 BCCI secretary Jay Shah tweeted on Monday (May 30) and informed that the board will give Rs 1.25 crore as a reward to the curator and groundsman.  There is a different prize money for six stadiums.  Jay Shah told in his second tweet that Rs 25 lakh will be given to Cricket Club of India (Brabourne Stadium), Wankhede Stadium, DY Patil Stadium and Pune’s Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Mumbai.  At the same time, Eden Gardens in Kolkata and Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will get Rs 12.5  lacs each for hosting 2 matches each in playoffs stage  .

 70 matches of the league round were played in four stadiums in Maharashtra.  20 matches each took place at Wankhede and DY Patil Stadiums.  At the same time, 15 matches each were held in Brabourne and MCA.  After that two matches of playoff were held at Eden Gardens in Kolkata and two matches at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

image credits india TV news

 In the final, Gujarat team under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya successfully chased down Rajasthan’s target of 131 runs and registered victory in 18.1 overs.  For Gujarat, Shubman Gill remained unbeaten on 45 off 43 balls.  But team captain Hardik Pandya, performing with both bat and ball , scored 34 runs in 30 balls and also took three wickets.  Rajasthan’s Jos Buttler took the most runs in the tournament and Yuzvendra Chahal took the most wickets.  Buttler was given the Orange Cap and Chahal was given the Purple Cap.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

Our biggest stories delivered
to your inbox