BCCI announces India T20 squad for 5 match series vs England

Spread the love

Finally Surya Kumar Yadav bangs open the Indian team door along with Ishan Kishen as both finally gets the breakthrough into the Indian squad after magnificent performances in IPL and domestic cricket on consistent basis. Ishan Kishen having just scored a whirlwind 173 in a Vijay Hazare trophy match 

There were lots of criticisms on the team selection for Australia T20I series last year end when both of them were overlooked . However they could not be ignored for long  and fully deserves to get selected into the squad .

Rahul Tewatia also gets a go on the back of some stellar IPL performances last couple of seasons. 

Rishabh Pant after his recent success in test cricket has returned back in T20 fold .

After long layoffs due to injuries Bhuvneshwar Kumar finally is making is comeback to the Indian team and should be in starting XI . Also Varun Chakraborty is making a comeback  and it remains to be seen whether Hardik Pandya will bowl in this contest.

Sanju Samson loses out paying the price of his inconsistency. Jasprit Bumrah is rested while Mayank Agarwal and Manish Pandey were not considered. 

The 5 match T20I series will be fully played at Ahmedabad with matches scheduled on 12th , 14th , 16th , 18th and 20th March 2021.

Squad: Virat Kohli (capt.), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt.), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

** by Amitava Mukherjee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *