Aus v NZ T20I series preview : Rich IPL 2021 stars will be on show 

Spread the love

The Trans – Tasman rivals New Zealand and Australia are all set to clash in the five match T20 series in New Zealand  and this being the year of the T20 World cup , it is bound to attract a lot of interest. Moreover some of the millionaires in the IPL 2021 auction will be seen in action in this series such as Kyle Jamieson of New Zealand and Jhye Richardson, Glenn Maxwell  and Riley Meredith of Australia not to speak of the existing IPL stars such as Kane Williamson , Trent Boult , Marcus Stoinis and Adam Zampa. 

The hosts New Zealand have more or less their best squad led by superstar batsman Kane Williamson . Martin Guptill , Tim Seifert and  Glenn Phillips are expected to provide batting firepower along with new star Kyle Jamieson. The bowling looks formidable with Trent Boult , Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson expected to contain  the Aussies by taking wickets and controlling run flow . The spin department looks formidable too with Santner and Sodhi restricting the run flow and also capable of scoring lower order runs . Overall the Kiwis look well balanced. 

The Australian squad was selected at the time when the test squad was ready to make the South African tour which subsequently got scrapped due to covid health issues.  Hence many first XI players who would have found a spot in this T20 side missed out like Warner , Smith , Starc , Cummins etc.  Even then it appears as a formidable Australian squad with proven players in T20 cricket. Finch and one of Phillipe or Wade would open . Both Phillipe and Wade can provide blazing starts like the latter did vs India recently . Ben McDermott , Marcus Stoinis and Glen Maxwell can provide massive firepower in middle overs followed by allrounder Mitch Marsh . Both the pace and spin department appear formidable with the two Richardsons ( Kane and Jhye) , Meredith , Tye and left hander Daniel Sams forming the pace department and Agar , Zampa and young rookie Tanveer Sangha to choose from spinners . Overall the Aussies look a formidable  outfit and a 5-0 result in their favour can push them upwards to number 1 T20I ranked team. 

Hence with two formidable teams locking horns , this promises to be an exciting T20  series 

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, D’Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Hamish Bennett, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, *Martin Guptill , Kyle Jamieson, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee. *Finn Allen (on stand-by for Guptill ) 

1st T20: February 22, Hagley Oval, Christchurch, 

2nd T20: February 25, University of Otago Oval, Dunedin, 

3rd T20: March 03, Sky Stadium, Wellington,

4th T20: March 05, Eden Park, Auckland, 

5th T20: March 07, Bay Oval, Tauranga, 

** by Amitava Mukherjee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *