5 Times in the IPL when the franchises had to change the leadership mid-season

Spread the love

Indian Premier League has always created a big buzz and has given cricketers a chance to improve their game. IPL has always provided a chance to budding youngsters to showcase their talent and make a place in the Indian team for themselves. On the other hand, experienced cricketers use this platform to experiment with their skills and prove themselves. Captains of the teams in the IPL have a special place. They lead the group of 23-25 players for 45 days which gives them ample time to impress the world with skillset as a captain and also to get noticed by the board. 

There have been cricketers who proved their mettle as captains and there have been some who couldn’t do it that well. In such cases franchise had to take the decision of changing the captaincy in the middle of the season. Here we are covering five such instances wherein captains were changed in mid-season.

Anil Kumble replaced Kevin Pieterson in 2009 – Royal Challengers Bangalore

India’s former coach, Anil Kumble took over the leadership of Royal Challengers Bangalore in the year 2009. Kumble replaced Kevin Pieterson as Pieterson had to leave for his homeland. He had fulfilled his national duty and the cricketer gladly sacrificed IPL for that. It was a major turnaround for Kumble. That was the year when RCB entered the finale under the leadership of this spin legend. The team had won 6 of 8 league games and ended up being third on the points table. Later RCB won the semi-final against MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings but then lost to Deccan Chargers in the final.

Rohit Sharma replaced Ricky Ponting in 2013 – Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma took over Mumbai Indians as the team wasn’t doing great under the captaincy of Ricky Ponting. This one change turned the fortune of the team and that was the time Mumbai Indians claimed their maiden title win. To this day Rohit Sharma continues to lead the team and Mumbai Indian continues to be one of the best teams in the IPL with 5 IPL titles and two Champions League titles.

Murali Vijay replaced David Miller in 2016 – Kings XI Punjab

Kings XI Punjab which is known as Punjab Kings now started terribly in 2016 under the leadership of David Mille. They lost 5 out of 6 matches and the team management decided to give Murali Vijay a chance as the captain of the team. The change did not pay off well and Kings XI Punjab ended up at the bottom of the points table even after the change in the leadership in the middle of the session.

Shreyas Iyer replaced Gautam Gambhir in 2018- Delhi Daredevils

Gautam Gambhir had joined Delhi Daredevils after 7 successful seasons of the IPL with Kolkata Knight Riders. In these 7 years, the team also won 2 IPL titles under his captaincy. But when he made a come back to his local franchise, the return was quite disappointing. Delhi Daredevils lost 5 out of 6 matches and ultimately the management had to decide against this leadership. The team was handed over to 23-year old Shreyas Iyer. The change was visible in the rebranded Delhi Capitals as they finished at third place in the IPL 2019 and reached the finale in 2020. 

Eoin Morgan replaced Dinesh Karthik in 2020 – Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders seemed to be struggling in 2020. They won 3 out of 8 first matches. The captain, Dinesh Karthik wasn’t doing great with the bat and also struggled when it came to making on-field decisions. Finally, the skipper decided to step down and the team management gave the leadership to Eoin Morgan. Morgan was England’s World Cup-winning skipper which gave hope to the team. The change worked but the team couldn’t earn their ticket to the playoffs due to the low net run rate. They could collect 14 points and end up at the 5th position in the points table.

This year is ready to welcome IPL 2021 and the fans hope to witness a great game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *