2010 IPL- The first-ever cricket tournament to be aired live on YouTube

Spread the love

Do you know which IPL season has the record for being telecast live on YouTube for the first time? Not only live screening on social media platforms but the last four matches of this season were also premiered in 3D across movie halls in India. Have you guessed it yet? You are right, we have brought you the glorious story of IPL season 3 or 2010 IPL. 

Unlike the 2nd season of the Indian Premier League the tournament was hosted by India and was watched by approximately 200 million people in the country on television screens. This huge number does not even count the huge mass of people that gathered to watch the live match at the stadiums. The 2010 IPL tournament was held between March 12, 2010, to April 25, 2010. 

IPL season 3 became the last IPL tournament where a team ending at the 2nd spot could not qualify for the IPL final. That is not it. This IPL season also became the last edition wherein the page playoffs system wasn’t used.

Winners and stars

The third edition of the UPL was won by Chennai Super Kings. Dhoni-led team bested the Mumbai Indians in the final match to pick up its first IPL trophy. Chennai Super Kings did not contain itself to the title of the tournament but also was awarded the Fair Play award. 

IPL’s best feature has to be the recognition that it provides to the other participating teams. This season of IPL brought forward a few names and made them shine like Pragyan Ojha. Ojha was playing for Deccan Chargers and was awarded the Purple Cap for his great contribution whereas, the Orange Cap went to the Master-Blaster, Sachin Tendulkar. Tendulkar was playing for Mumbai Indians. Though the team could not win against CSK this did not stop Tendulkar from giving his best. 

Saurabh Tiwary received praise for his great game and also was declared the U-23 success of the tournament. 

Let’s have a look at the points to understand the 2010 game a little better.

1.Mumbai Indians141040201.084
2.Deccan Chargers1486016-0.297
3.Chennai Super Kings14770140.274
4.Royal Challengers Bangalore14770140.219
5.Delhi Daredevils14680120.021
6.Kolkata Knight Riders1459010-0.341
7.Rajasthan Royals1459010-0.514
8.Kings XI Punjab1431106-0.478

The highest paid players

The frenzy of IPL starts right from the auctions. Auctions are as important a part of the Indian Premier League as the play offs. The fans have a keen interest in knowing who was sold for what price and which new additions are going to made by franchises.

IPL 2010 player auction was held on January 19. 2010 and 97 players had registered for the auction and the list was shortlisted to 66 players. Out of 97, 11 players were sold. Kieron Pollard of West Indies and Shane Bond of New Zealand came out as the highest bid players. They were bought for $750,000. Pollard joined Mumbai Indians and Shane Bond was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders.

The big bomb emergency

Yes, you heard it right. There was a big bomb emergency right in the middle of the IPL 2010. IPL does not only provide you with the world class game but also manages to give something that we continue to talk about for months. And one such incident happened on April 17 right before the match between Royal Challengers Bnagalore and Mumbai Indians. The match was going to take place at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore when 2 bombs went off and another was defused.

The match was played, though an hour late. But this incident made the board change the venue of the semi-finals. Both the semi-final matches were played in Navi Mumbai at DY Patil Stadium.

The three devices were hidden in the stadium’s perimeter wall. The two explosions reportedly injured 15 people. This incident caused hysteria amongst the crowd and the players. The board suspected many roll backs at the players’ end. Former cricketers Sir Ian Botham, Brian Lara, Steve Waugh came forward and urged the players to continue playing. They said that the cricketers need to hold up their spirits and should not give in to terrorism by opting out of the IPL.

There are more stories that will leave you dumbfounded but you will have to wait fir the next article to take a journey through IPL season 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *