Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

2  surprise omissions as Star Sports publishes their T20I WC  team of the tournament   

Star Sports, the official broadcaster of the T20 World Cup, has announced the Team of the Tournament.  Star Sports’ Team of the Tournament has included some great players from some of the best teams of the World Cup in the Playing-11.  The team has maximum players from India and England.  These two teams have three players each.  At the same time, there are two players from Pakistan.  New Zealand, Zimbabwe and South Africa have one player each.

 Star Sports included the opening pair of England as an opener in the Team of the Tournament.  Alex Hales and Jos Buttler will be seen leading the opening in the official broadcaster’s team.  Both Hales and Butler have been in excellent form in this tournament.  They achieved the target of 169 against India without losing any wicket.

 The responsibility of the middle order has been given to the two strongest batsmen of India in this tournament.  Virat Kohli and Suryakumar have been entrusted with this responsibility.  Both of them played an important role in taking the Indian team to the semi-finals.  Kohli scored 296 runs in six matches in this tournament at an average of 98.67 and a strike rate of 136.41.  He is the highest run-scorer of T20 World Cup.  Suryakumar Yadav scored 239 runs in six matches in this World Cup at an average of 59.75 and strike rate of 189.68.  He is currently at number three among the highest run-scorers.  After this, Star Sports has chosen Glenn Phillips at number five.  Phillips also scored a century in this World Cup.  He scored 201 runs in five matches in the World Cup at a strike rate of 158.27.

all images credits twitter

 Zimbabwe’s brilliant all-rounder Sikandar Raza has also found a place in the best team of Star Sports.  Raza scored 219 runs in eight matches.  Also took 10 wickets.  Pakistan’s vice-captain Shadab Khan has also been included in the squad.  Shadab has given some great performances throughout the World Cup.  Shadab scored 98 runs in seven matches and also took 10 wickets.  South African fast bowler Anrich Nortje and England quick bowler Mark Wood are also in the Star Sports Team of the Tournament.

Nortje took 11 wickets in five matches.  His best performance was four wickets for 10 runs.  At the same time, Wood took nine wickets in four matches.  Due to injury, he was not part of the team in the semi-finals and final.

  Pakistan’s star bowler Shaheen Afridi was also given a place in the playing-11 by Star Sports.  Shaheen looked colorless in the first few matches.  However, he later made a comeback and took 11 wickets in seven matches including the final.  Three wickets for 32 runs was his best performance.

 India’s rising left-arm fast bowler Arshdeep Singh is also a part of the official broadcasters’ T20 Team of the Tournament.  This is Arshdeep’s first World Cup and he achieved this feat in his very first World Cup.  Arshdeep took 10 wickets in six matches at an economy rate of 7.80 and a strike rate of 12.  His best performance was three wickets for 32 runs.  Arshdeep troubled batsmen around the world with his swing.  In the coming time, he can become the strike bowler of Team India.

The complete team is as under:
Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Glenn Phillips, Sikandar Raza, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Mark Wood, Anrich Nortje,  Arshdeep Singh 

However  Star Sports have made two glaring omissions,   Sam Curran who was player of the tournament with 13 wickets at only 6.52 economy & 11.38 average  & man of the match in the final has been shockingly  omitted  as also Ben Stokes who played two match winning knocks ,one in the final & the other vs Sri Lanka in the match which England needed a must win to qualify for semis .

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

Our biggest stories delivered
to your inbox